Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK guys/gals I am coaching our schools shooting team this year. NOt exactly an appointment of desire but.

Certanly we will have all types of guns and they all shoot differently as do each shooter. As a fundamental in my thought the POA and POI is crucial in being able to hit. I my self am self taught and not to bad if I must say so.

I don't fear instructing these kids,, I just want to be sure I get the correct info to these youngsters.

Any one can pick up a shot gun and pull the trigger. Will they hit? Maybe or mabye not.

Mounting the gun: each of us are different, POA not hard to get. POI all depends on the gun and how you mount it.

We had sign up meeting tonight, had 35 to show, big group. Can't take one on one as I do my kids.

Any suggestions.

·
Registered
2,829 Posts
35 is a lot of students for one instructor. See if you can get some assistants. If you can recruit some just make sure that you are all teaching from the same book.

Besides reviewing the safety rules with the group in the beginning, I would have every one take a shot or 2 at a patterning board at 30 yard to confirm Point of Impact and gun fit.

Being it is a shooting team I hope you will not have all beginners. If you have any beginners, start them with a trap locked on straight aways from post 3, then move to post 1 then post 5. Then lock the trap for the the hard lefts then rights. This should also help the experienced shooters to, especially if they are having a problem post/target.

·
Registered
7,104 Posts
35 is too many for one instructor. I like the classroom first then the trap range to allow the shooters to follow the written material. Also something that can be referenced at a later time. Taking each aspect of shooting incrementally. From safety, rules of the range, to gun set up and POA/POI, to form options, to vision and move.