Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any one get 10 or more rounds in their benelli? Is it possible? Does any one know of a place that can custom fabricate a benelli mag extention?

I'm planning on getting a benelli M4 but would like to have 10 rounds in it. A 2 round mag extention is all that Benelli offers for the M4.

· Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
JMCCOYB, I knew that sooner or later someone like you would post a negative reply.

Yes I am new to shotguns so I have a lot of questions. Fortunately the majority of people on this board are really friendly and helpful.

· Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Read this reply at:

http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.p ... post484476

A guy named Zak Smith stated this:

Loading a shotgun is super-slow
One thing to consider is that it takes a heck of a long time to load rounds into a shotgun when compared to the load time for a semi-auto rifle or pistol.

For a pistol, it takes approximately 1.2 seconds to change mags (if you've practiced a bit).
For an AR-15, it takes a little bit more than that - maybe two seconds.

In those two weapons, you start off with between 9 (e.g. a 1911 with 8+1) and 31 rounds available, and reloading is fairly rare.

For a shotgun, to load a single shell takes about two seconds for someone of average ability. The best shotgun shooters in 3gun load faster than one shell per second. I think I currently at about 1.6 seconds per shell (load 3 at once). Fumbling a reload is much easier with shells vs. reloading a pistol magazine, and you have an opportunity to fumble each shell, not just per mag.

So it will take an average person 6-10 seconds to load four shotshells into a shotgun - assuming it hasn't been run dry - and they have the opportunity to fumble each of those four shells.

That is one important reason capacity is important in a shotgun.