Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, my name is John. I started shooting trap about 18 months ago and shortly after also found sporting clay's which I absolutely love. You could go as far as to say I'm obsessed with clay's games. I shoot approximately 10 rounds of trap a week. through so much practice I've become pretty good. My situation is fairly peculiar. I'm blind in my right eye. Due to being blind in my right eye it is sometimes difficult to follow the clay with my eye open and really focus and connect on the shot. Also due to the eye sight issue I don't have the luxury of having depth perception. I watch all the you tube videos I can and I'm just having trouble getting the hang of sporting clay's. I'm just wondering if anyone with eye sight issues or visual disabilities might have any tips or tricks for me. honestly Ill take any help I can get. I just want to shoot to the best of my ability. Thanks in advance!

-John

·
Registered
497 Posts
My brother lost his left eye, and has actually gotten back pretty good (for an old guy) with one eye. He only shoots Sporting Clays. Realize that there will be some shots that you won't be able to pick up where other people do, set where you can see it. Your visual pickup point will be hugely important. When you are waiting to shoot make sure you are practice picking up the bird. Be aware you are going to have to shoot some longer shots. Make sure you have various color lenses for your glasses. You may have to change a bit more than others to pick up colors.

If you read some of the posts, some people intentionally shoot with one eye closed and can really put up some scores. The eye is definitely a hindrance, but isn't a deal breaker. The best is that you won't have to listen to people ask you if you are sure you are left eye dominant.

If you ever get down to Florida, we would be happy to shoot with you.

·
Premium Member
7,590 Posts