Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,406 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Howdy ya'll... boy am I glad I found this site. I'm a college boy about ready to graduate next semester and I'm faced with a strange kind of situation.

I've shot firearms since I was big enough to hold a .22, and although I'm no expert compared to you guys (other than a safety expert of course) I have an interest in firearms as a means of personal safety and maybe if I weren't a poor college boy recreation.

Anyway I anticipate living on my own in my own apartment here fairly soon, no room mate, no one but me. At school we're not allowed to have guns, which I don't agree with but I put up with it. I know a lady who wouldn't have been raped on campus if she had been able to defend herself. Horrific but true.

I mention that incident because it was one of my eye opening experiences... I'd always heard about people getting attacked in their own homes or other places they thought were safe and I never thought once it could happen to someone I knew. So I decided a long while ago that when I get out of this living situation, I would not be a helpless victim.

My first thought turned to my Mossberg 500, which I think would make an excellent last resort of defense. Right now I have it fitted with a 28" barrel, but I don't think it would be a challenge to find a shorter barrel. But then I thought of a couple things.

First of all if I were to shoot an intruder in an apartment situation, what about structural penetration? The apartment I'm looking at is a studio apartment. It's a real bachelor pad (i.e. it's tiny). I would never forgive myself if I hurt an innocent person... is there a load perhaps that could lessen the threat here?