Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve been loading for many years and always try to follow powder manufacturers recipes but in these times of getting what you can find for components how can you tell if your shells are approaching max pressure short of sending loads off to be tested?

·
Registered
27,951 Posts
I’ve been loading for many years and always try to follow powder manufacturers recipes but in these times of getting what you can find for components how can you tell if your shells are approaching max pressure short of sending loads off to be tested?
No.

·
Registered
2,015 Posts
Approaching? No.
Over? yeah, your action may lock back or over-under may open up. barrel could get stress cracking, or even fail. Basically stuff starts to break once you go over, but nothing indicates you are nearing there.

·
Registered
2,015 Posts
On the hull side, you can experience primers blowing out, the heads expanding or rounding over, cracking of the steel rims, complete separation of 2pc hulls. Lots of different things, again once you are over pressure these happen.

·
Premium Member
8,141 Posts
There are no pressure signs that you can measure or visually see on a shotgun hull. Flattened primers mean nothing. This includes hulls that were used for proof loads.

The best you can do is follow good reloading data.

·
Premium Member
8,141 Posts
Texcl2,

DO NOT try to 'work up' loads to the point of experiencing any of the items that BBK has mentioned. None of those things will happen until you have pressures well past proof level. I have personally tested loads in a pressure gun and even at 20,000 plus PSI none of those items mentioned showed up.

·
Registered
2,015 Posts
Texcl2,