Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, after much shop fitting, I have eventually decided on a aYa #4 s/s. This little beauty just felt good in my hands right from the start and it was love at first sight. What is more, the one I found is in mint condition and in its original case. Everything is still nice and tight and gleaming. The smell of her is still lingering on my fingers and I cannot wait to take her home with me. Unfortunately, I now have a two month wait for my licence to arrive. :( In the meantime, I would appreciate any comments on the aYa. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,207 Posts
I'm no expert Trout, but I do know that aYa made some of the best double guns ever. Ernest Hemingway, for example, had one in 20 gauge--he committed suicide with it, not a recommended use--and he could afford to shoot whatever he wanted. Congrats on your new gun; I'm properly envious! (not envious of the waiting period though!)

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys! I appreciate the comments. The gun laws in South Africa are about to change early next year, with some serious limitations being placed on us with regard to number of guns allowed. Already a lot of refusals are being encountered. After all the excitement of my initial purchase, I may still find that my application is refused, even after the initial waiting period of two months or so. This will mean that I can then lodge an appeal, but that may take a further two months or so to pan out. The best I can do now is hope and pray that my application lands on the right desk and that whoever picks it up is in a good mood on the day. Wish me luck!

·
Registered
1,207 Posts