Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the sport and looking for an inexpensive over/under to shoot trap and skeet. Someone reccomended I buy a Baikal. Never heard of them before. Any one have any thoughts? Suggestions on other manufacturers or models for a newbie?

·
Registered
55 Posts
I've seen mixed reviews of Baikal shotguns. I can't say you should or shouldn't because I've never seen one in person. However, I would like to recommend you checkout Huglu (www.huglushotgunsusa.com) and look at what they have available. They are in the process of liquidating thier current inventory because they've been ordered to stop using the huglu shotguns usa name, which is stamped on every gun they are liquidating. You can find some GREAT deals. Give them a look, alot of people are saying good things about them. I'm saving up to buy one of thier side by sides. --Wing"If it flies...it dies."

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the advice. I actually stumbled across their website the other night and saw some great deals. I'm currently looking at one of their semi-autos.

G

·
Wow. Checked out the weblink you mentioned. Sounds like huglu USA is shutdown due to high warranty claims. I guess that speaks to reliability????!!!!

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Vinnie,
I own a Bakial IZH-27 12 ga O/U. Actually I won it at a Gun Bash and planned on selling it until I shot it. Yes, it is inexpensive, yes, a Browning or a Beretta it's not but I have shot 22 out of 25 at trap with it. So it gained my respect and I've decided to keep it.

Some of the other people on this forum own them also and the reports have been mostly positive. Only time will tell how they hold up but I have started to notice that the dealers are beginning to raise the price on them because they are getting popular.

I would say if you are just getting into shotguns and you want an inexpensive over/under the Bakial isn't a bad place to start.