Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am new to shot guns. My brother let me use his 391 for about 5 years. I shot some dove and duck with along with some sporting clays. I tried to buy the gun from him for 750.00 but he wants to keep it which I understand. Prior to that I was shooting an old A5. I did have a Beretta A 400 for a while but sold it. It was ok but not worth the price tag. I have a Beretta Onyx Pro that I enjoy for sporting clays. I am looking for something to shoot dove mostly, some sporting clays and a few duck trips. Should I look at a newer gun or pay the 750.00 to 1000.00 for a nice 391?

·
Registered
676 Posts
391!

·
Registered
3,107 Posts
391, but it took two men and a boy to remove the trigger group on my two 20s.

The reason I liked the 391 20s was the size and shape of the forend....it felt much like an O/U in the hand, to me, and a 24" barrel was available.
Either of which may or may not be an interest for you.

·
Registered
28,056 Posts
I am looking for something to shoot dove mostly, some sporting clays and a few duck trips. Should I look at a newer gun or pay the 750.00 to 1000.00 for a nice 391?
That's up to you, but there are many, many good choices to shoot doves, far too many to completely list. I've used Browning Double Autos, B-80's, A-5's, Beretta 303's, Fabarm L4S models, to have a an enjoyable day on the dove field, and even a couple of old Browning Golds as well.

·
Registered
3,497 Posts
Not to get into another thread on which shotgun is better, but I've got a couple of 390's and they are great shotguns as well.

The newer A300 is nice too - similar to the 390/391, but not as nice wood, and a parkerized barrel. I shoot clays with a guy who shoots one, he must have 8,000+ rounds on it with no issues.

·
Registered
130 Posts