Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this forum and also to shotgun arena. I am thinking of getting a Beretta 682 Gold E Sporting. Has anyone try this gun out? What is your experience with it, pro/con? Thanks in advance.

K. Nguyen

·
Registered
109 Posts
Near the end of December last year I was made aware of the price increase Beretta was planning on making, so I took the plunge and purchased one of the guns you are considering. I had been shooting a Browning Special Sporting for several years and was well aware of the differences between the two-primarily the rib height. Stock differences were really not a major consideration as I usually change whatever needs to be changed to make any new gun fit me, but the bbl/rib was a different story. I felt that I could make myself shoot the flatter rib just as well as I had been shooting the Browning. Since this was my major concern and given the fact that Beretta normally turns out some of the most reliable target guns made today I thought it would be my only concern. Wrong! After just 4 rounds of sporting clays the stock broke. When I sent it back to Beretta for replacement I instructed them to replace the forearm as well if they could not match the wood. It came with excellent wood the first time, and I felt that I deserved a replacement of equal quality. Well, they did replace both the stock and forearm, but the new stock had so much castoff that it did not even come close to fitting in the pocket on my shoulder. I have since added a pad adjuster, but this takes away from both the smoothness of the gun mount (I always start gun down) and the balance of the gun. I have now added weight to the bbls to bring the balance back forward, but it still isn't the same as it was to start with. Too, the darned thing will not reliably set the trigger for the second shot with 1 oz loads.
Do I like the gun? Despite everything I have had problems with,