Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm thinking about buying a used Beretta 686 White Onyx, 12 Gauge, 28" barrels. I'm new to the sport and I'm looking for a well made, affordable, all around sporting gun. Any and all advice is welcome. Thanks.

·
Registered
17,973 Posts
voodoochild said:
I'm thinking about buying a used Beretta 686 White Onyx, 12 Gauge, 28" barrels. I'm new to the sport and I'm looking for a well made, affordable, all around sporting gun. Any and all advice is welcome. Thanks.
The Beretta 68x action is one of the most popular actions on the face of the earth. It's well made, reliable, and your children's children will still be shooting it when you're long gone. 12 Gauge is the universally accepted all-around gauge. Barrel length preference changes about as often as hem lines, but 28" is a pretty standard length.

My advice would be that if it fits, you will be very happy with it.

·
Registered
254 Posts
I have a 686 WOS (Sporting model). Great gun. I would highly recommend it. When I was buying, I actually was set on a Browning. After much research, I choose the 686 since the Beretta fit me better and was a better value in my opinion.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm looking at a used gun. I think its a 2003 model though only fired a few times. How can I tell if its a sporting or field model? How much do the differences matter to me as a new sporting shooter? From what reasearch I've done it seems that the internal vs. screw in chokes are the primary difference. Can't you put screw in chokes in the field gun?

Thanks for your patience with my "new guy" questions and thanks for your help.

·
Registered
17,973 Posts
voodoochild said: