Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was looking at the Beretta USA website, notice they have a scaled receiver 28 gauge 687, according to the website, it weighs the same as all the other gauges. Does anyone have a Baby frame 28 gauge here? :D

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey Silver pigeon, Have you handled/shot these? I am looking for a nice small 28 gauge. I have a older Wingmaster 28, weighs around 6lbs, love it. Wanting to step up in the 28 world, hunt dove and a few quail, any thoughts?

·
Registered
4,116 Posts
Beretta needs to learn how to read a scale and record weights! I haven't weighed a baby frame 28, but have seen some reviews that said it was right at 6 pounds. My 20 gauge 687 SPII field 28" weighs 6 lb. 4 oz.

·
Registered
114 Posts
Gas,

I own SP III's in 12/28" and 20/26" both have been excellent guns for me, and shoot and handle extremely well. I have contemplated a 28 ga to add to the set and had the chance to shoot one a fellow had at the sporting clays course, SP III 28/28" and identical to my two. It was a nice shooting little gun and considerably lighter than my 20 ga. Sure would be a sweet quail/dove gun! Actually I would own one right now if I had known the owner of the gun I shot was going to trade it in on an SP V. I almost puked when he told me how little they gave him on trade. (He grabbed my gun by mistake during a round and loaded 28's into my 20, I think to avoid embarassing himself and making the mistake again he got the V.) The weights seem to be within a few oz's of the quoted weight in my experience. Barrel length and wood density will make slight variences.

SPIII

·
Registered
1,407 Posts