Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI everyone,
In my county in MD(Prince George), we have a very generous season (UNLIMITED antlerless and 2 antlered deer, and can get a stamp for 3rd antlered). I know I want a slug gun, but I am not sure which gun and gauge to buy(I'm leaning more to 20gauge). I read an article on the web that comparedMarlin 210F, the Mossberg695 and a now discontinued Browning)and from this board I heard about the H&R Ultra Slug Gun. Also, I am contemplating buying a Mossberg 500 combo for $259 , or Remington 870 express combo for $333 at Walmart if people think that is a better idea. What quality combination of gun and scope would put me in or around 500 can you guys recommend for me? I am a newbie and would appreciate the help so I can finally make the purchase instead of just looking and looking and not getting anything. Thanks very much for any help you can provide...

·
Registered
7,201 Posts
I own the H&R Ultra and it's a tack driver at 100 yards.

I've shot the Slug Warrior from Savage and it's the finest slug gun I've pulled the trigger on.

The "undisputed" king of web hype is the TarHunt. It's probably a GREAT gun I've just never shot the thing, but I do know that it has a great reputation.

I like the fact that all three of these guns are DEDICATED slug guns. Made to shoot slugs only.

The H&R with a Redhead Scope would only run around $300 bucks tax,title,license.

Give it a go make that first shot count cause it's the only one you're gonna get. That's the point though isn't it?

·
Registered
189 Posts
Hi MdDeerHunter,