Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I'm currently in the market for a new upper level O/U shotgun. I would like to spend no more than around 6k, and Blaser seems like a good option to me. At this price point, I would most likely be buying a used F3 or a new sporting F16. My question to you is- Is it worth spending the extra 1.5-2k for the F3? I'm also open to other O/U's in that price range as well. (Quick random question while I'm here as well, what is the receiver height on the Browning Citori CX?) Also, before anyone mentions it, I've been here before and can't remember the sign in details for my last account, so I'm using this one for now.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,358 Posts
At this price range, I would also look at the following:

Zoli Z-Sport
Salvinelli L1
Perazzi MXS
Beretta DT11/DT10

I have no experience with Blaser F16 but when I picked it up at the shop, it seemed a bit too light. I did shot F3 however and, while the weight was just right, the recoil was quite excessive, which might be due to fit. In any case, try to shoot as many gun as you can find to see which fits you and your shooting style the best. Also, check out these articles for even more choices:

http://fowlershotgunning.com/top-5-mid- ... -shotguns/
http://fowlershotgunning.com/top-5-uppe ... -shotguns/

Good luck!

·
Registered
4,026 Posts
Texan875 said:
I would like to spend no more than around 6k, and Blaser seems like a good option to me.
Do NOT overlook a Caesar Guerini. They have several clay target guns in your price bracket starting at just over $3k. They are making strong inroads into the clay target world these days.

·
Registered
696 Posts
Tex,

Be sure to look at and try a Zoli Z gun.
They are an excellent design, good looking, have much less recoil than the Blasers and also have a
10 year waranty and excellent service.

CT

·
Registered
2,914 Posts