Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got a new Browning BPS 28 ga. What a great gun! It is light, points great, functions smoothly, and it beautiful to boot. Unlike a lot of 28 ga. guns I have shot, it is not "whippy." Part of this is the 28" barrel, but I also think that the BPS is just a really solid gun. I shot trap with it last night. It was a little hard to break the clays with no. 9 (I got a lot of chips), but I got spectacular breaks with the no. 8s.

Now I am going to have to start reloading.

Elliott

·
Registered
2,415 Posts
I have a 28 gauge Browning BPS that I have used with good results at different times while hunting.Most of the time I use my 28 gauge Franchi 48 AL but there are times when I like to use some of my other 28 gauge shotguns for something different.

Do you use a 28 gauge much to shoot trap with?

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Dear 28 Gauge:

I just started shooting the 28 gauge. My friend lent me his 28 ga. Mossberg Silver Reserve, and I liked the gauge. I wanted a 28 ga. "starter" gun, something that was good quality, fit me well, and was fun to shoot, but not $2000. The BPS was perfect.

I was really attracted to the Franchi, but with the price of ammunition, I was worried about the gun throwing the empties everywhere. At my club, everyone who shoots the al48 loves it. I was just worried that an autoloading 28 ga. could put me in the poorhouse.

It goes without saying (for me at least), that 28 gauge is more of a challenge than 12 gauge at trap. However, as I am getting use to it, my scores are slowly equalizing.

Elliott

·
Registered
2,415 Posts
I have never fired a 28 gauge Mossberg Silver Reserve.The only one I have ever seen was at a gunshow this past October.It seemed to be a nice shotgun and had a price on it of $775.00 Canadian.

The 28 gauge can become very adictive.I am sure that your 28 gauge BPS will not be your last. :)