Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all Im very new to reloading shotgun. I have a lee load all 2. and a Crap load of shells that I would like to reload. So i have WST powder 209 primers and rem 1 1/8 oz wads. not sure what shot i Can use or slugs. Sorry very green to this and have no local help.
Im from Watford Ont

·
Super Moderator
7,643 Posts
Welcome to SGW

First I will answer a question, you can use any size shot you want in a hull. That is not load specific. I know nothing about slugs.
Next I have to ask a question. What are the name brands on that"Crap load of shells" you have because that does make a difference in the info we give you.

Steve

·
Registered
1,166 Posts
First advice, buy a Lyman Shotshell Reloading Handbook, 5th Ed. Secondly, a scale to confirm powder charge.
Challenger hulls are not a prime hull to reload, requiring larger diameter Euro size primers.

·
Registered
6,402 Posts
You need to get a manual called Lyman's Shotshell Reloading Handbook. The current edition is Fifth. It is on Amazon. It is a good general writeup of all the fundamentals of shotgun reloading and includes a variety of recipes. It also includes a lot of cutaway photos of various hulls that will help with identification. You need to read it, several times. It is not perfect, but is about the best general discussion of shotgun reloading around. Then, you need to forget about what wads and powder you have and instead think about what you want to do. What is the ammo for? How much shot do you want, what velocity? You will need to identify and sort the hulls. Your wads will work in some, not others. Powder is not interchangeable. There is a huge variety used for various loads. WST stands for Winchester Super Target. It is used for 12 gauge clay target loads, typically 1 and 1 1/8 ounce. ALL primes are 209. That is a size. You need to soecify the exact primer, they are not interchangeable.

·
Registered
1,472 Posts