Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to the sport of trap & skeet shooting. Could someone please give me their opinion about which choke to use when shooting clay's. I have a Browning Fusion and the chokes I have are: 1)Full, 2)Improved modified, 3)Modified, 4)Improved Cylinder, 5)Skeet. So many choices I'm lost. Thanks ahead of time for the responses. According to Browning website here is what each choke is suppose to produce. Average percentages for a 30 inch circle at 40 yards. 1) Full - 65% to 75% 2) Improved Modified - 55% to 65% 3) Modified - 45% to 55% 4) Improved Cylinder - 35% to 45% 5) Skeet - 30% to 35%

·
Registered
109 Posts
Oh, Boy,Another newbie whose mind we can pollute with all kinds of "stuff"! :b Take this for what it is worth...trap is generally shot with chokes as loose as light modified all the way to extra full. For the closer targets-16 yds to 20 yds-modified is about all you will need. Beyond 20 yards most people use Full.Remember, this is very subjective, and everyone has his or her own preference. Skeet is an "open choke" game, so use either cylinder or skeet, and don't let anyone talk you into using 7 1/2 shot for skeet...you don't need it. If you ever shoot Sporting Clays you will probably need every choke you already own plus about 10 more:lol ! No, just kidding...what you have is fine, but you will change them a lot more often unless you are so good that you can hit everything thrown with a full choke.

·
Premium Member
2,666 Posts