Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anybody measured the standard 5 Yildiz chokes? I just would like to know which one are which I understand more marks = more open chokes.

·
Registered
243 Posts
5 = skeet
4 = Imp Cyl
3 = Mod
2 = Full
1 = Xfull

Chris

·
Registered
11 Posts
10gaOkie said:
5 = skeet
4 = Imp Cyl
3 = Mod
2 = Full
1 = Xfull

Chris
Can someone please explain what the differences are for each of these chokes? What exactly do they do? Sorry I'm new to this...

·
Registered
296 Posts
narfmasta said:
10gaOkie said:
5 = skeet
4 = Imp Cyl
3 = Mod
2 = Full
1 = Xfull

Chris
Can someone please explain what the differences are for each of these chokes? What exactly do they do? Sorry I'm new to this...
as you go from 5 to 1...the pattern from your gun becomes more concentrated(less spread out)....therefore your effective range is shorter for more spread out patterns....5(skeet) would be better for close range shots(more spread out)...while a Full choke would be better for a longer shot(more concentrated)

·
Registered
296 Posts
10gaOkie said:
5 = skeet
4 = Imp Cyl
3 = Mod
2 = Full
1 = Xfull

Chris
Chris...are you sure about the Full then XFull??...I would have thought it would be 2=Imp Mod and 1=Full...I haven't measured anything I just think that's a more common progression than Full to X Full...I certainly could be wrong though...it's happened once before :wink:

·
Registered
11 Posts
Pharmr said:
narfmasta said:
10gaOkie said:
5 = skeet
4 = Imp Cyl
3 = Mod
2 = Full
1 = Xfull

Chris
as you go from 5 to 1...the pattern from your gun becomes more concentrated(less spread out)....therefore your effective range is shorter for more spread out patterns....5(skeet) would be better for close range shots(more spread out)...while a Full choke would be better for a longer shot(more concentrated)