Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still pretty new to shotshell loading, only have about 2k loaded and shot. For those 2k I've used Windjammer wads, Rem STS hulls, 18grains of red dot, 1-1/8oz #7-1/2 and a Win 209 primer. My LGS was out of windjammer wads and the guy recommended WT12 wads (WAA12 replacement) as I can still use 18gr of red dot.

Now I am getting crushed hulls almost every shell on the crimp station {F* any suggestions? Never had this problem with the windjammer wads.

Edit: just ordered more Windjammers to see if the problem continues

·
Super Moderator
9,844 Posts
My guess would be a higher stack height with the WT12. After you drop shot and before the pre-crimp station check and see how far up the inside of the hull the shot column comes. If it is higher then the fold line for the old crimp the stack height is too tall.

Steve

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Steve Y said:
My guess would be a higher stack height with the WT12. After you drop shot and before the pre-crimp station check and see how far up the inside of the hull the shot column comes. If it is higher then the fold line for the old crimp the stack height is too tall.

Steve
The shot column looked to be below the fold line, but I'll double check

·
Super Moderator
9,844 Posts
After doing some checking I could not find your load using a WT12 wad. I could find that load using International or WST, both denser powders then RedDot. Which leads me back to a stack height issue.

Steve

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Steve Y said:
After doing some checking I could not find your load using a WT12 wad. I could find that load using International or WST, both denser powders then RedDot. Which leads me back to a stack height issue.

Steve
It is listed in Lyman 5th (I believe) as WAA12 (the WT12 is a clone of it)