Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie to the group.I have hunted rabbits and grouse in WV with a very old 16 gauge 870 for years.I moved to VA &the county I live in is shotgun only for deer.So I found a Ithica m37 deerslayer(I am a sucker for anything John Browning had a hand in)The shotgun just screams smooth quality workmanship I love it.The stock is marbled and looks like it should have been on a fine English double. the forearm is round with groves.The reciever and magazine tube are parkerised & the barrel is blue with (Rifle sights ,the front orange) and stamped DEERSLAYER model 37- Featherweight-12 GA-2 3/4 Chamber -proof Tested Ithicagun co,inc,Ithica,N.Y.-made in U.S.A.Roto.The reciver only has the serial number of MAG-870011831 on it.I really like this shotgun and the quality of American workmanship. My question is the barrell is 19 " and appears to be smooth ,What is the choke on the barrel.Thanks in advance

·
Registered
2,497 Posts
Welcome to Shotgunworld!!!

I believe Ithaca made the smooth Deerslayer barrels in a true cylinder choke,with different interior barrel dimensions than their bird barrels. This gives the smooth bore Deerslayer barrels darn good accuracy with foster slugs out to about 75 yards. Beyond that I am much more comfortable with the fully rifled Deerslayer barrels with sabot slugs.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the information.Were I live in VA we have to use buckshot only so I picked up a couple of boxes of 00 and will check the pattern at various distances this evening or tomarrow.

·
Registered
649 Posts
If it is cylinder,then Buckshot won'tbe good beyond 15 yards. Perhaps the Dixie Tri-ball would be better, but I don't know. You can sometimes find older style barrels for sale on the net. They usually need to be faced off my a Gunsmith with a Lathe, and a chamber reamer. That's the best way to get a good pattern.
greg

·
Registered
975 Posts