Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to reloading and realize you need to have a wad specific to your 'recipe', but is there a real performance difference in the wide variety of wads?

·
Registered
2,016 Posts
The biggest factor in changing wads is the difference in peak pressure..... some seal tighter than others and some have a softer "collapse" than others. That's the reason the hull/primer/powder/wad combination should be a listed, tested load.

Different wads in different guns at different velocities may pattern better (or worse) than other combinations. The only way to know is at the patterning board.

I've found that the performance differences between different wads or pretty small..... I buy based on price and ease of loading.

·
Registered
7,159 Posts
Another major consideration, and one that matters more to me than seal and amount of cushioning, is how well a particular wad fits into the hull with the other components, which will inevitably determine the quality of the crimp.

Most wads, factory or clones, seal adequately and provide more or less cushioning but some wads' shot cups are simply either too high or too low to provide a good crimp.

And there are more than just a few published recipes out there listing components that simply won't crimp worth a damn -- usually because of the wad, but occasionally because of a combination of wad and bulky powder.

·
Registered
17,956 Posts
To me, yes and NO! Depends on the wad and the situation. Generally, no they don't make a lot of difference, BUT THEY CAN! I've been hacking arround with this shotgun loading since the early '60s. I had to use what I could get my hands on. I've studdied adnausium the differences in performance and hulls and primers etc, etc, and honestly couldn't really tell much difference between any of the combinations other than they didn't always fit in the hull well. Just like Case said,