Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a beginner, I have that problem of not knowing where my shot stream goes at times. Since this is a problem that all kinds of shooters probably have now and then, it seems to me that some inventive person must have figured out how to imbed some kind of object inside the shot stream that releases a visible indication of where the main body of the shot is at, say, 30 yards.

The problem seems like it could be a very difficult one considering the many factors involved, and the unruly nature of expanding shot. If nothing has been developed yet, it would sure be helpful to know the results of other attempts at the problem.

·
Registered
985 Posts
The answer is Yes!
I have not tried them but you can get these tracer rounds from:
Fire Quest

12 GA. "Tracer Pattern"

"TRACER PATTERN" contains a tracer ball that travels with your shot pattern to show where you are hitting. This tracer ball is ballistically matched and remains near the center of the shot pattern for the effective range of a regular shell. "TRACER PATTERN" allows your hand-eye coordination to develop more quickly, allowing you to adjust your aim, reduce training time and wasted shots-thus improving your accuracy! The composition of the tracer compound is non-phosphourus & are non-corrosive to your shotgun & is fully visible day or night. (CANNOT BE SHIPPED TO NEW YORK CITY OR SURROUNDING AREAS.) 23/4" round

3 Units Per Package $15.99 $13.99 On Sale!
25 Units Per Package $89.99
If you use them please post a product review on thier performance and let us know if they helped you.

G

·
Under the right conditions, you can see the shot cloud. High humidity, or at night with the lights behind the shooter. It is easier for the observer than the shooter to see. Also of some possible interest, I was using a tracer load to shoot some pest blackbirds, and hit an incomer in the breast, with the tracer, and he kept right on flying!