Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this and could really use some help. I got a 12 gauge Benelli Nova pump for Christmas and want to improve my shooting. Thanks - V

·
Registered
839 Posts
Well I shoot in large trap tournaments all over the northeast so I know alot about trap shooting, I have had some teaching in skeet but I dont shoot it that much. I do have a coach for my trap shooting though. The gun you have would be a recommended gun for trap but is good for just starting out with, i started with a mossburg 500. When you are shooting trap just remember you always need to keep your head down. If you lift your head your gun will come with it and you will shoot over your target most of the time. Always follor through, when you pull the trigger keep swinging, dont stop your swing or your shot pattern will end up a foot behind the bird. Try to use light loads, not the heavy loads from walmart if you plan on shooting alot or you will end up with a sore cheeck or shoulder. Lean into your shot, hold the gun tight, dont let it kick you. Hope this helps a little, this is mostly basic stuff....

-Rob

·
Registered
205 Posts
Go to a local range and shoot. Talk to other shoters and let them know your starting out and they will help you. Lessons would be a big +.

Have fun

·
Registered
11,200 Posts
Big V said:
I'm new to this and could really use some help. I got a 12 gauge Benelli Nova pump for Christmas and want to improve my shooting. Thanks - V
Most importantly - HAVE FUN!!! Yes, everyone wants to do well, but that will come in time.

Someone mentioned light loads, and I'll second that. They'll break the targets just as well, and they're a lot easier on your shoulder and face.

I don't shoot enough skeet to offer any advice. In Trap, always try to get the target while it is rising. If it is going down, you've waited too long.