Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Folks,

How much of an impact will the upcoming election have on the shotgun sports? I expect there will be a run on non-shotgun related ammo and guns before November causing shortages and some price increases, but what about shotguns and say 12 gauge #8 target shells?

Regards,
Rich

·
Registered
33 Posts
GardenGnome414 said:
.... during the times of prior elections so I have no knowledge of what the inventory looked like or what prices were.
If its anything like last time, powder and primers will be worth their weight in gold, IF you can find any.

Factory loads will likely still be available, though possibly at increased prices.

22 LR and "military" ammo will disappear again.

Handgun and "black rifle" sales will explode (again), along with ammo (mentioned above) to fit them.

Target/sporting shotguns shouldn't see much effect, but I expect short barreled "home defense" shotguns to become big sellers.

oregunner said:
"Those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it."
Yep.

I'm not advocating hoarding or emptying the shelves, but I won't have much sympathy later on for anybody who doesn't lay in a "personal needs" supply in advance.

That's the short version, in my eyes anyway.

·
Registered
2,214 Posts
I think most of us who went through the past few years have already taken precautions to make sure of not getting caught short again.

·
Banned
30,821 Posts
The last mass shooting in Orlando, for the first time in my memory, failed to create a mass gun buying panic.

Either human nature has changed or the American firearms and ammunition industry has finally caused supply to exceed demand. I prefer the latter explanation.