Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm very very new to the sport of trap and skeet and I would like some tips on how not to make a total *** of my self.
Anyone have some pet peeves or annoyances they may want to share? Not necessarily stuff that newbies do but things even regulars might do that distrupt and annoy other shooters.

I do intend on hanging back for a while observing and watching what others do.

Thanks

·
Registered
11,509 Posts
For sporting clays:

When you're the next shooter up, stand directly behind the shooting stand with your gun in hand, chokes in the gun and be ready to go.

Watch other peoples pairs, so you don't have to "see a pair" when you get there.

Load and unload your gun ONLY in the shooting stand.

When you're finished shooting your pairs, DON'T "ask to see another pair"

·
Registered
354 Posts
Be prepared. There's nothing worse than waiting for someone to get their act together when everyone else is on squad. I'm talking about a full five minutes while (someone who should know better) is wandering off to get different shells, playing with their chokes, and generally going out of their way to be a PIA. People don't mind waiting for new guys to come up to speed; they do mind waiting for someone who's been doing it for years.

Remember, mostly it's a gentlemen's game. Make sure the squad is ready before calling for the bird, especially for things like "Annie Oakley" games where there may be more than one shooter.

Pick up your hulls. Please don't launch them at my face. :)

-- Sam

·
Registered
354 Posts
ATAShooter said:
PLEASE...turn off your cell phone when on the firing line....
Oh, man. If one rang at my range we'd suddenly have a new target.

-- Sam

G

·