Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a rather odd question as it might be.

I've been hunting for many years, however most of them have been bowhunting. I haven't picked up a shotgun seriously until this year, when I started waterfowling with help from a friend of mine. It's been a rather interesting shooting year, with some success on my part. The some success is not due to lack of opportunity, cause that has definately been there, but to my shooting ability, hehe.

Here's the thing, and you have probably had a number of posts on this, I shoot right-handed, but I'm left eye dominant. As you can imagine, this really throws a wrench into the situation. Now with my bow and my rifle, I close my left eye to shoot; however, with my shotgun I'm told to shoot both eyes open. Ok fine no problem, however my sight picture isn't always what "it should be", meaning that sometimes (I don't know the percentage) my left eye pulls the barrel farther to the left than the target, if you know what I mean, because I am looking cross barrel if you will. Now I do not sight down the barrel, I do keep both eyes open, but when I try it in the house and pick a door knob....the barrel isn't always pointing at the knob. This finally brings me to my question...

I am currently shooting a Mossberg 835 w/a 24" barrel and improved cylinder. However, I had borrowed a firends Mossberg 500 w/a 26-28" barrel and improved cylinder and smacked every bird I shot at. So my question is will shooting a longer barrel help "push" the barrel to be more in line with the target??? I frustrate the heck out of my friend talking to him about this, but my logic is that with the bead/barrel out further, it will actually move the barrel more to the right thus being more inline with the target. Hopefully that makes sense.