Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just started shooting skeet a couple of month's ago and have been told that I am stopping my swing at the shot.The best I have done is 17. I would like to but the recoil shoves the barrel up and by the time I get it back down,the bird is long gone.Sometimes I can hit doubles,but most of the time I can't get the gun down fast enough. I also handload either 8's or 9's to about 1250 fps in a 1 oz load.I just reduced that to 1180 fps.I also got a new beretta AL390. Its at the gunshop now getting a decelarater pad installed.How can I solve my problem? thanks. sj :?:

·
Premium Member
2,667 Posts
Bring those one oz loads down into the 1125-1180 2-3/4 dram range and see if that doesn't help on the muzzle jump and recoil, another option would be a barrel weight.

The need to stay with the same speed shell, as your leads can vary with different ones although not great, when you are starting you need to keep as much consistent as possible.

Muzzle jump is a part of shooting, many guns have porting to help reduce this. Follow through is a forced habit that you have to learn to do and should occur whether the muzzle rises or not. What happens to many shooters is that they stop their swing as they pull the trigger, you just have to think about keeping the muzzle in motion as you squeeze the trigger.

Muscle memory can be built through practice, simply mount the gun with a snap cap and follow a straight line such as where a wall meets a ceiling, pick a point somewhere inbetween and pull the trigger. See how many of those you can do back to back before your arm gets tired, not too many I would bet. That small amount of rest between shots really works in your favor. But, as you practice your gun mount you can also practice follow through.