Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, noob here-

I've fired shotguns in the past but this is the first one I've owned, Moss 500, standard brass bead on the front. I noticed last night that hole for the threads on the bead goes all the way through the barrel wall (probably ok), but the threads ever so slightly protrude into the bore, enough that I can catch a fingernail on it if I put my finger in there (unloaded of course!)

Is this bad? Intuition is telling me that it may not be the best thing, especially if firing slugs through there.

I would think that I could file down the length of the threaded portion a hair, though, to fix this.

Opinions?

Thanks-

·
Registered
797 Posts
Sure you can.Just remember to try and screw a thin nut onto the threaded shaft first(if you can).That way,if you damage the threads,which is easy to do,you will be able to "re cut" them by spinning the nut back off.Not too many of us have thread chasers that small!A little bit of Blue Locktite,screw it back in,and you'll be ready to go.
Dave

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thats what was thinking too, I've got a huge pile of old bolts and nuts from microelectronics so I might have a nut that will fit.. but so is the protruding threads a problem then? I should fix this before I put rounds through it?

·
Registered
3,322 Posts
I had an older Ithaca 37 that was that way, until I sent it to Briley to install thin-wall choke tubes. It was shot that way for years, with birdshot and buckshot (but no slugs) with no apparent damage.

·
Registered
189 Posts
ajgee said:
but so is the protruding threads a problem then? I should fix this before I put rounds through it?