Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
and have some questions about the fitting. The stockfitter asked me what type of clay sport I want to modify the stock to suit. I only have one gun, Winchester Supreme Select Sporting O/U 30", that I want to shoot all three events: sporting clay, skeet, and trap. My budget does not allow me to buy two more guns today. So how should the gun be fitter so I can do all three events but not necessarily handicap myself on any one of them.

·
Registered
4,123 Posts
You should be able to. Atleast I do with good scores anyway. Actually when I started shooting a skeet gun in 5-stand my scores became consitantly better.

Good Luck.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Hi Alex. The fitter is asking a good question. I don't know what the actual differences are in fine tuning the fit for each of those sports, but it's common for a Trap gun to shoot high. That's really just a sneaky trick to get more hits. The clay is going up, and so you need to lead it "up", but that usually means blocking the clay with the barrel. Hard to do. But if the gun shoots high, you can still see the clay and hit it too.

So, my guess, the fitter would make the gun shoot high if you want to focus on trap, and leave it centered for skeet and sporting clays.

But, shooting high or low is just one of 5 or 6 dimensions to be be adjusted. Didn't you mention in an earlier post that you were getting a bruised cheek? Make sure the fitter addresses this too! You shouldn't have to suffer, or make excuses about how it's really not your girlfriend slapping you! :wink:

Let us know what you learn, how well it works, what got changed, and all that!

-- Quackster

·
Registered
53 Posts
ALEX,