Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello:

Three friends and I are doing a guided field goose hunt in a few weeks.

I've never done a guided hunt of any sort before and am unsure what to tip but understand it is the norm.

The cost of the hunt is $150 per person. Assuming we're happy with the process, what is a nice tip?

Thanks-

Brent

·
Registered
1,423 Posts
It depends on wheather the guide is self-employed or if he works for an outfitter.

If he is a sole proprietor and the only one that is with you, than a tip is really not required since he is making all of the money himself. In effect, he should be charging you (or the three of you) enough to more than cover his costs, and make a profit as well. $450 for a mornings work ain't too shabby if you ask me. You could pitch in $5 or $10 each, but that is up to you. If he has a decoy or bird boy, then he may well be working for tips. These are the guys you really don't want to forget, just like a mate on a fishing boat.

Now, if your guide is working for a larger outfitter, than there is a good chance he is just making an hourly rate, or a fixed rate per trip. $20 per gun for three hunters would be a nice and affordable bonus for a good guide and a good hunt. Not enough to break your bank, but certainly enough to really make your guide glad to have you. I remember guiding fishing trips in the summer for another guide when he had a large party that required two boats. I made $10/hr cash, which is big money for a kid in high school and early in college to just go fishing... but that extra $20 or $30 cash in hand after the trip was every bit as sweet as the pay-day itself.

·
Registered
655 Posts