Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am a newbie (6'4, 225lb) who wants to shoot. I have a lot of experience with pistols and rifles, but NONE with shotguns. Frankly I dont know what most of the terminology means.
I do know that I want to start, but want to buy my first gun for around $350 or less. I understnad that O/U guns are the choice form most shooters, but autos absorb a lot of the recoil, so help accuracy. I see that there are also a lot of people here that use pump guns.

-What are the benefits/disadvantages of using a pump shotgun?

-What kind of shotgun would be best suited to a beginner who wants to shoot everything?

-WHat is a good beginner gun? I knwo browning O/Us are really good, as is the beretta 390/391 for an auto. But even used, they are more or less out of my price range for now. I hear that the IZH guns are good, gazzelle and dehaan (sp) turkish guns are also quite good. But what is my best bet?

-I kind of think Id liek to start with a pump. While optimally Id have an O/U, they are too pricey. Therefore, Id liek to learn with the 'hardest' gun to shoot with, and I figure having to pump between shots makes it tougher. This in the long run will make me a better shooter.

-I want something that will be relaible and usabel at a shoot (say 200 rounds/month) for the next 5-10 years. I do keep my guns clean, but would prefer to minimize cleaning, etc (autos get dirty mush easier, Id guess O/Us require the least work).

Any help or advice would be great, I knwo there are a lot of posts on here regarding some of these issues, but I totally dont knwo what I want, and need some direction.
Thanks,

JMH

·
Registered
4,124 Posts