Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been shooting trap for the past 6 months and I absolutely love it! I'm hooked for life. :)
I own a Remington 1100 12 gauge field gun with mod choke.

My personal best so far is 18 and really need to work on my consistency. I'm having diffiulty on post 4 and 5. I have no problems whatsoever on post #1. The hard exteme left angle target is not an issue.

I would love to see my scores improve. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Vanny

·
Registered
5,610 Posts
I suspect the difficulty on 4 and 5 is caused by one of two things: You may be arm-swinging your gun and moving the comb away from your cheek as you do it.
You may also be standing in such a way that you run out of swing distance before you reach targets. (Arm swinging can also cause your right shoulder to drop, which can cause shooting under targets.)

Solutions: Swing to targets using body rotation at the waist and hips, powered by the legs. There will be a learning curve but once it becomes natural, your shooting will improve.

Try placing your feet in a natural position, about shoulder width apart so a line drawn across your toes would be parallel with a line drawn down station 5. For most shooters, this stance works for all stations and is simple to use.

·
Registered
39 Posts
The two most likely causes when i first started out was looking back to the bead and not keeping the eyes on the target (shoot behind) or disrupting the contact of the face away from the comb. (lifting the head.)

Also depending on if you shoot with one eye or two eye, you may not be seeing the target as well due to blocking the view of the angles with the barrel, getting surprised then rushing to make up for it and pushing the comb away from the face. You can experiment with different gun and eye holds to help you see the target better.