Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I jsut signed up and wanted to say hi :D. My name is Bob and I live in Nothern Michagin. I work at a camp and I'm the ranch mng and the Target sports dir. We have riflery, archery, and Trapshooting. I have been shooting for years. My first shotgun was a 12ga. mossburge 500 I payed $150 for it when I was 18 it was the first gun I every bought. I started shooting bottles by the river my friend have a old 16 ga. that when you shot it didn't reless the pump so you had to use the reless butten behind the trigergard. We would toss bottles for each other we would shoot frogs, bird, any thing that we could find :twisted: . I moved to MI and started working at camp and got my first taste of trap shooting. About 3 years ago I got a new gun a winchester 1200 pump at a gun show for $200 bucks. It gets the job done :wink: . At camp we shoot New England 12's and 20's we used 410 then I found some winchester AA light loads and realy like them so we are getting rid of the 410's.
The real quetions is I ahve been shoting for years at bottles and trap but when I go out bird hunting I can't get a thing. We have lot of Grose and it a lot of hunting in ceder trees. How do you get a shot off when the bird flys from between your feet and after you start breathing again and see the bird and think shot by then the bird is long gone. Am I the only person that has this problem or is it normal. :oops:

·
Registered
1,500 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

I am located in northern MN, and the hunters go through thick underbrush and a lot of trees to flush grouse. It is interesting to me that a lot of hunters shoot grouse with full chokes in order to blast through the underbrush, and still get some pellets into the grouse. Many hunters in this area swear that they cannot take down a grouse in the heavy underbrush with an i/c choke.

G

·