Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a total beginner with no firearm experience.

I own a 870 Police Magnum (state trooper trade-in), and I need some help with ammo selection.

Here are my choices as I see them -

Option 1 - 2 ¾-inch #1 buck shotshell (16 pellet payload) - From firearmstactical.com: "In all shotshell loads, number 1 buckshot produces more potentially effective wound trauma than either #00 or #000 buck. In addition, number 1 buck is less likely to over-penetrate and exit an attacker's body."

Option 2 - Standard 2 ¾-inch #00 lead buckshot

Option 3 - Managed or Reduced recoil 2 ¾-inch #00 lead buckshot

Option 4 - HD Ultimate Home Defense Shotshells from Remington - 2x4 shot or BB

Since I'm a beginner, my ability to aim in a high stressed situation should come into play.

Option I seems to be the default at this point. My only concern is the recoil in the #1.

Option 3 is something to consider... Managed or reduced recoil would be beneficial for someone with my skill set (or lack there of...)

Option 4 is birdshot, I know... and way way way overpriced, I know... I think they are thinking someone in the market for these shells (me for example) doesn't need to be blasting huge holes through walls with #00 when something goes bump in the night.

So what are your thoughts?

·
Registered
24,438 Posts
Try your various HD loads on a pattern board and see what works the best in YOUR gun....Most will do just fine, but some MAY do better than others. Calculate your longest HD scenario - example, in MY house it is almost 50' in one straight line - or about 16-17 yards. That means I'll set up targets at various ranges with MY max being that distance.....if yours is longer or shorter, adjust accordingly HD loads as well......

·
Registered
12,637 Posts
I use the federal tactical reduced recoil w/ flite control wad. It should give nice useable patterns out to 20+ yds. It also makes follow up shots faster.

·