Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I’m new to reloading, I’m not quite sure when to pitch old shells. If I see a tear in the mouth or some other obvious damage, sure. But when do you toss old shells that look fine but are just a bit burnt?

Attached is a pic of the toastiest Gun Club I gave on the left, with a once fired one on the right. Is it still good? How do you know when to toss it?
Liquid Cylinder Lighter Fluid Electric blue

·
Registered
5,490 Posts
From a technical standpoint, so long as the hull will hold all the components together, it's good to go. From a practical standpoint, for me, it's a peer pressure thing. When the guys I shoot with start ridiculing me for having ratty looking reloads, I load 'em once more and let 'em fly.

·
Premium Member
2,084 Posts
Looks like one is a 1x and the other is probably mid-life.
The little crack that's barely showing on the toasty one may turn into an actual split down the road, but I'd reload it without a thought.
Take a few that you think might be getting close and reload them. Then take a look at how they seal when crimped and I think you may be hard pressed to see what had you concerned. Mark them with a sharpie and take another look after they get fired again. I'm guessing you can reload them 2 or 3 more times before you go, "No friggin' way!" and finally toss them.
:cool:

·
Registered
93 Posts
Since I’m new to reloading, I’m not quite sure when to pitch old shells. If I see a tear in the mouth or some other obvious damage, sure. But when do you toss old shells that look fine but are just a bit burnt?

Attached is a pic of the toastiest Gun Club I gave on the left, with a once fired one on the right. Is it still good? How do you know when to toss it?
View attachment 50802