Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:( I have been shooting skeet for about 3 months and the the best I have done so far is 17. Generaly,I shoot mid teens am getting frustrated as all get out.I can't afford a pro coach,so I guess I will just have to keep on trying.What is the secret?the puller today said I was shooting at the bird because I was hitting behind them mostly.He said I need to lead them more.. sj :cry:

·
Registered
241 Posts
I've been shooting skeet for 3 weeks now, and yesterday I got my first 20. I usually shoot in the high teens. I wonder when I'll get my first 25, too, but I also try to not get too caught up in scores :D

The secret? I think the secret is to just keep an open mind and absorb what the experienced guys tell you. I was having some trouble with the middle stations until I got a tip from one of the old-timers that worked miracles for me.

But he also reminded me that not everything everyone tells you will necessarily be correct for you. You just have to take everything in and process it on your own.

Trying to improve on your own can be very frustrating because you're only guessing at what changes to make in your technique, so it's kind of a "hit and miss" thing, pardon the pun.

Don't be too hard on yourself, either. To be honest, I'm a horrible shot with a handgun, although I love shooting my 9mm. But I know that improvements in handgun marksmanship come a lot slower for me and take a lot more work than shooting skeet.

G

·
If you're missing most of the birds on 3, 4, & 5, then you're not leading them enough. It seems unnatural at first, but lead the birds more than you think you need to, and then lead 'em a little more yet; it's damn seldom you see anybody miss a bird by shooting in front of it.

3 rules of skeet:
Lead the bird - Don't stop your swing - Keep your cheek glued to the stock. Break one of these rules, and you won't break the bird.

·
Registered
28 Posts