Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm a bit of a noob to clay sports, I've shot trap, skeet, sporting clays and five stand. I've thouroghly enjoyed all of them.

Up to this point I've only carried enough shells for 1 shell - 1 target. Last time I went out to shoot I had a guy tell me that I should consider carrying extras.

So I have two questions. 1: How many extras do you carry for a round of 25 (in your sport of choice)? 2: How do extras effect scoring in your sport of choice?

Thanks
Justus
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,322 Posts
I'll usually carry about 30 shells for a 25-target round of 5-stand. Usually, 5 of the targets on a 5-stand are 2-shot singles. If the 5-stand is set up with all singles, I would want more than that.

For a 100-target round of sporting clays, I want at least 10 extras, although I rarely need anywhere near that many. You will need a few for "no-birds". If you fire at the first bird and the second comes off the trap broken, you have to shoot the pair over, so you use an extra shell.

I don't know what you mean by "How do extras effect scoring in your sport of choice?" They don't affect scoring at all, except that if you can't shoot at a target because you ran out of shells, it is a lost target.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
596 Posts
justuspr said:
Hi, I'm a bit of a noob to clay sports, I've shot trap, skeet, sporting clays and five stand. I've thouroghly enjoyed all of them.

Up to this point I've only carried enough shells for 1 shell - 1 target. Last time I went out to shoot I had a guy tell me that I should consider carrying extras.

So I have two questions. 1: How many extras do you carry for a round of 25 (in your sport of choice)? 2: How do extras effect scoring in your sport of choice?

Thanks
Justus
I shoot 3 to 4 rounds of 5-Stand every time time I go to the range. So to Start I dump 2 boxes of shells into the shell bag that I wear. This is because I can theoretically gotr through 30 shots in a round. All of our cards have the following format:

A single
A pair either report or true
A pair either report or true.

For the single you can use 2 shots. Also there are times when one of the birds come out broken so you reshoot that pair.

So for 4 rounds I go through 5 to 6 boxes.

Mike :lol:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,414 Posts
How many do I carry? A handfull...however many that is. You will need them sooner or later. For instance, you hit both targets (doubles) with one shot on skeet which establishes your first target dead. If I'm not mistaken, you're allowed this 3 times before the targets are counted lost...this 3rd shot would be an extra shell. I've also shot at "no birds" (broken targets or no target on doubles) before I realized there was a problem. Then there's always the occasional shell that just won't fire.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,829 Posts
Sporting Clays: 100 target event: 4 boxes #8 Lights, 1 box 7 1/2 Trap Handicap shells in my bag. 10 shells of each each in my vest pockets.

Sporting 5 stand: Same as sporting in my bag if 100 target event and 25 of each in my vest pockets.

Trap: 100 target event: 4 boxes and 5 extra in a 5 shell holder in my bag. 1 box and 2 extras shells per sub-event or 4 shells for doubles when on the line.

Skeet for fun only so I just take 1 box of 25.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,267 Posts
TOM-M said:
If I'm not mistaken, you're allowed this 3 times before the targets are counted lost... .
Unless the referee determines that you've shot the targets out of order, you're allowed as many proof pair as it takes to establish the second target.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,414 Posts
pop-a-cap said:
...you're allowed as many proof pair as it takes to establish the second target.
Thanks. I'll have to remember that because it does come up occasionally.

Is this true for American only or does it apply to International as well?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
995 Posts
At least 1 extra box. You can always put the unused shells back in the box easier than conjure up extra shells out on the course with out having to MOOCH them from other shooters. 1 extra box on my hand cart won't hurt me. V/R TonyG
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,267 Posts
TOM-M said:
pop-a-cap said:
...you're allowed as many proof pair as it takes to establish the second target.
Thanks. I'll have to remember that because it does come up occasionally.

Is this true for American only or does it apply to International as well?
I can only speak from the NSSA view point. And I shouldn't have put the comment about shooting out of order in there. If the ref determined that you shot out of order the first target would be lost, but to establish the second target the first must be established or it's proof and then the second scored.
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top