Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone I just started shooting skeet and sporting clays.
Everyone there says i'm good but need to work on my lead.

·
Registered
241 Posts
If you're shooting with a "sustained lead", which means you're trying to establish a lead immediately and shooting when you've got it right, then one trick is to use the yellow square that marks Station Eight as a reference for distance.

So if the yellow station square is 3 feet and your coach tells you to lead by 2.5 feet, you can eyeball the square and make an estimation of the distance you need to lead (at the clay).

But ask people to also show you how to shoot "swing through" and "pull away".

These are just different methods of finding when to take the shot. Give them all a try before you settle. In fact, you may find yourself using different techniques on different stations for different birds.

I started with "sustained lead" because it seemed easiest to understand. But I gradually switched to "swing through" instead and my scores jumped up, especially in the middle stations.

good luck

·
Registered
7,201 Posts
Shoot however your shooting now don't worry yet about sustained leads and swing thru's. You will need these to get really consistent scores, but if you're shooting for fun...

Your hand eye coordination seem pretty good, so then here are some general guidelines.

Station 2 & 6 - 1 to 1.5 foot lead
Station 3 & 5 - 2.5 foot lead
Station 4 - 3.5 foot lead

I went from shooting 14 -16 to shooting 19-21's when someone told me this. Now I'm sweating swing thru's and sustained leads and hope my new obsession is not becoming like golf.

Have fun don't sweat the details too hard.

·
Registered
241 Posts
Hey JPL,

About how long did you shoot before you started consciously trying out different styles (swing-through, pull-away, etc.)?

I'm just curious... I know everyone learns differently.