Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
6,040 Posts
Don't worry about "shooting out" a woodcock covert, the habitat will age out long before that happens. Woodcock are migratory and they will fill out a so called empty covert. If this were not the case then newly created habitat would not see any birds establish it as home and anyone willing to see and think knows that is not the case. I've been participating in spring woodcock counts since the 1970s and banding since the early 1990s and my experiences are that woodcock numbers are declining but it is far more to do with habitat aging out than hunting.

Grouse are a bit different. They aren't migratory but the fall shuffle can see the birds a fair distance depending on the amount of good cover and hunting pressure. I have decent grouse cover behind my home but the bird numbers have steadily declined due to the property becoming landlocked from other covers which has the birds' reproductive capability decreasing every year. Unless I decide to go and shoot them out, I expect the birds to disappear within 10 years and probably even less.

Where hunting has the largest affect on grouse is shooting the resident bird from good cover after the fall shuffle has completed. In this region that is about mid-November. Birds shot in good covers tend to be additive to the mortality rates and the cover is unlikely to be utilized until the following fall. I learned this from Gordon Guillion many years ago and it seemed to tally with my anecdotal experiences dating back to childhood. For that reason I don't shoot grouse after deer season starts which is the first Saturday in November in traditional covers. I will and do shoot grouse when found in poor cover, as found when out pheasant hunting, as they are unlikely to survive the winter. I can't recall one being older than that year's hatch in such habitat.