Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have owned air guns only and have shot skeet with a friend at a gun club with his 12 gauge locally and have finally decided to buy me a new shotgun for Christmas. The age old question "Which gun should I buy? And what gauge?" I hope to shoot skeet at the gun club with my friend and not look like a total newbie. I am leaning towards the Remington 870 12 gauge but after much reading might be swayed towards a 20 gauge instead. Please help me decide.
Thanks

·
Registered
1,951 Posts
Welcome to Shotgunworld!

Do you have a budget in mind? When you say 870 12 gauge, are you thinking the Express model or Wingmaster?

While some use pump shotguns for clay sports (especially trap), most now use either semi-automatics or over/unders.

Since you are just getting started, you could look for a used Remington 1100, 11-87, Beretta AL390, 391 or 3901 or a Browning Gold or Silver Hunter. Check them out and see which one feels good to you and fits. You can do searches to get a better idea of what fit means.

·
Registered
2,016 Posts
If it's for skeet, a 20 gauge is all you need. If you're comfortable shucking a pumpgun, the 870 will do you just fine.

Should you ever go over to the dark side and want to shoot trap, you'll find there's an advantage to the 12 bore, unless you're on the bird really fast.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I know this may sound dumb but where should I go to buy a used gun? California is probably one of the strictest states for gun ownership. Going the used route sounds interesting.

·
Registered
4,359 Posts
For used guns, go to a gunshop. There have to be several in your area. Ask questions, let them know the same thing you have here, and see the response you get. If you find one that takes time to help you and doesn't try to sell you what they have even if it's wrong.