Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a beginner skeeter who just bought a Lanber semi-auto as my first shotgun.

I'm curious to know the opinions of any other Lanber owners out there on how to care for this gun. Is it better to fire it dry or wet?

I shot it for the 1st time yesterday with STS Light Target load and I was having a few issues with weak or no shell ejection, and once the bolt was not sent back far enough after a fire and the action got stuck. I lubed up the receiver with Break Free after the first round and the ejection problem seemed to clear up. Guess it liked it better wet. Is this standard behavior for a gun that hasn't been broken in yet?

·
Registered
354 Posts
Well, I'm not a Lanber owner, but the following applies to just about any new gun.

There is a difference between "wet" and "brand new, never broken down and cleaned/lubed."

No gun that I'm aware of should be shot "wet". If it's truly wet it will attract all sorts of dirt and crud, and potentially cause more problems than not enough lube/oil.

New guns should be field stripped and cleaned thoroughly before their initial use. It's amazing the poor condition many guns are shipped in.

Your best bet is to take the gun apart as far as the manufacturer recommends, clean thoroughly, put a very light coating of oil/CLP on everything, wipe off the excess, and put it back together. I also put the tiniest amount of lube (I use Tetra) on high wear areas.

In addition, most semi-autos do prefer heavier loads when new. As the gun breaks in you'll be able to use lighter loads, but when they're new and stiff they need all the help they can get to eject properly.

Welcome to the forum, and congrats on your new gun (and sport!) Good luck with it!

-- Sam

G

·
Thanks, Sam.