Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to reloading. So new I haven't yet done it. Have picked up Lyman's "bible" already. Anyone have any opinion about the Lee Load All Reloader? It's economical, which is good, but what are any drwabacks? What can/can't it do? Will I hate using it? I don't mind spending more. What do y'all propose is a good entry-level reloader? This will priarily be for 12 ga, and progressive is preferred. I want to pump out shells and I shoot targets only.

·
Registered
1,741 Posts
The Lee Load-All isn't worth bothering with in my judgment. If you want a good progressive for 12 gauge, the MEC Grabber or 9000GN are excellent values. The basic difference between them is that the 9000GN is an auto-indexing/auto-ejecting progressive while the Grabber is manually indexed. The MEC 650 is also a progressive press, but it does not allowing resizing during the normal loading cycle.

If you go progressive, I strongly suggest you set the press up for whatever hull and load combination you prefer and then leave it alone.

·
Registered
205 Posts
Some of us have used the loader in question, And take it from us if you plan on more than 3 or 4 boxes a month, step up to a mec or better press. A mec can be had used for a new Lee, and it will have some resale value.

·
Registered
17,956 Posts
Buy a MEC 600 Jr or a used Hornady/Pacific DL-155 or 266. I have a Load-All. I keep it arround as a, well I really don't know why? Maybe just to keep someone else from the misery! :wink:

BP

·
Registered
159 Posts
If your budget allows for it, go with a MEC.

If you want to try reloading with an investment of less than $50 the Lee will serve you well. It comes with pretty much every bushing you require with the exception of a 3/4oz shot bushing.