Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking for a shotgun to hunt all types of game - waterfowl, turkey, deer, upland, etc...

something under 500 dollars.

and something that is friendly to left handed shooters. (although I am not sure that this is even an issue after reading some posts)

What I keep seeing are:

Remington 870 Express
Mossberg 500
Browning BPS (loads underneath)

others I have read good things about

Mossberg 535 and Mossberg 835

I am still kind of new to everything, but I am looking for a gun that I can take out there and hunt anything with using both regular shot and slugs.

(I am unclear if i need to get two different barrels to do this)

I am looking at the mossberg catalog and they got these combos, but i want to know if I can get a waterfowl gun and use slugs in it.

are 3 1/2 shells really necessary for anything?

Yeah so basically I am looking for a jack of all trades gun that is relatively inexpensive and reliable and friendly to lefties if that even matters

Thanks

·
Registered
2,016 Posts
Way back when dinosaurs roamed the earth, Remington made left-handed Wingmasters (maybe they still do.... I dunno).

Anyhow, for you southpaws, that's the place to start.

Next best bet is the Mossberg with the tang-mounted safety... the right-side ejection port is no problem for a leftie when shooting a pump. On an auto loader, it's a different matter - it opens so quickly that it'll belch flame, soot, & smoke outta the port; somewhat of a problem when it's right in front of your face.

You can shoot rifled slugs out of a smoothbore without needing a special barrel. A dedicated slug barrel has the advantage of better sights than just a plain bead. If you're going to shoot sabots, you'll need a fully rifled barrel.