Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm looking for a good all-around 12 ga. shotgun for myself, female, 5' 4". Priorities are 1.upland bird hunting over my field spaniel, 2. Trap, 3. Possible dear hunting...in that order. If I have to get a separate shot-gun for #3 using slugs, I can live with that but I'd prefer to find something that will work for all 3. I've been using a Mossberg 500 that's way too big for me for 20+ years. Did pretty well with it but its time to get something that fits...I swear my arms must be getting shorter as I get older :? . Any suggestions would be appreciated.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Oh yeah...I forgot to mention...I'm not a big fan of semi-auto, but not completely opposed if everything else is right. Also, not afraid of a little kick.

·
Registered
139 Posts
HIYA and Welcome to Shotgun World!

All right then you are about my height an inch or so shorter. I know exactly what you mean with the mossberg being to big, but you poor thing 20 years, tisk tisk. Well I have to get my long guns custom fitted to me, or at least cut down. HOWEVER, there is a ladies sporting clays Over and Under in the new CDNN catalog that looks like a good deal. They have Two versions one is a Tristar 333 youth/ladies for $299 the other is a 333 ladies sporting clay for $389. The 13.5 LOP should be about right on the head for you. You may have to take a 1/4" or 1/2" extra off, but that is no big deal. I really am tempted to try the Sporting myself, but since I just got a new gun not to long ago I would need to get the hubby to find one to buy also. This is for the low end ($$$) and would allow for you to get a nice pump too.

http://www.cdnninvestments.com/dowournewcat.html
Just download the catalog and have a look for your self.