Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not new to shotgunning as I've been hunting with my Dad for many years. I've always used his 12 gauge 2 3/4 & 3" Winchester with a Wind Choke to change Chokes to hunt with.

We hunt:
Pheasant
Quail
Dove
Turkey

I've since gotten married moved out and am looking to get my own gun similiar to what I have. I plan to buy a turkey gun with camo already on it at some point.

So I would like to not go over $300.00 for this being my first gun I own.

Any suggestions?

I went into Walmart today and took a look at a Winchester there that was $240 but they only had the floor model and I wanted one in a box so I waited.

Some other items to consider is that I might use this on rare occasion to shoot clay and also this will be a good form of self defense as well.

Something that might shoot slugs as well as buckshot.

·
Registered
17,956 Posts
The Benelli Nova is a pretty good gun for the bucks. I prefer it to the current lowend Winchester myself, and I'm a big Model 12 fan. If you want versatility and choke tubes and Camo, the Nova is hard to beat. I'm not sure how much the camo finished ones are, I've no desire whatever for one, but last year the black ones were less than 3Cs.

BP

·
Registered
4,117 Posts
For $300, I would look the same direction you already are. Possibles, besides the Winchester, are the Remington 870 Express and the Mossberg 500.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I was in Bass Pro and the sales guy told me that he preferred the Benelli Nova in black but they were out of them.

They are better than the Winchester?

·
Banned
473 Posts