Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,263 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a question with the M2000. . .I sold it to a buddy and he has had some cycling problems. The second shell is moving back, but is not getting lifted to be loaded. . .anyone had this problem?

I am guessing something with the trigger assembly is broke?

·
Registered
585 Posts
It probably needs to be cleaned and re-oiled.

I've found that Hoppe's OIL works best - things like Break-Free tend to make it stick.

However, since I switched to real gun oil, I haven't had a hiccup in thousands of rounds.

Also, if the gun is relatively new, you will have some feeding problems in the first few hundred rounds. A box or two of 3" magnums is the recommended break-in - especially if you're going to shoot light loads. I've used mine exclusively for sporting clays and shot nothing but target loads. The problem you describe DID happen to me a few times when I just started shooting the gun, but they went away.

If you tap on the elevator with your finger (with the hand that's on the forearm, right next to it), the gun will continue to load - sometimes you can do that and still break the target.

You also have to make sure you oil all the right places.

for me:

1) the ring that goes around the magazine tube and compresses the recoil spring: oil when the bolt is locked open, then cycle a few times

2) the action bars where they slide into the receiver: oil when the bolt is locked upen, then cycle a few times

3) remove the trigger assembly - spray down with Break-Free, clean, and OIL.

I found that especially when the gun is new, it's important to clean and oil it after ever shoot. Now...it doesn't matter. Proper break-in seems to make a lot of difference with this particular gun.