Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Shotgunners,
From my username you can tell that, at heart, I'm a handgun man. I'm an NRA rifle/pistol instructor, but now I want to try my hand at breaking some clay birds. Other than some informal trap shooting some 15 or 20 years ago, I have not done much shotgunning. Not knowing how deeply I will want to get into it, I decided to get one of the less expensive guns to start with. After browsing the web and checking out this and other forums, I decided to get one of the Verona LX-502 shotguns from Dick's -- which I did last Friday. :D It seems very nice and I'm anxious to try it for the first time this coming Saturday. I do have one concern; the new gun is VERY hard to open and cock. :cry: Everything seems to work alright and the ejectors snap right out once you push hard enough. It is also hard to close although it seems to lock up ok. I have sprayed the works well with solvent to clean the shipping grease out and re-oiled, but it still seems much harder to open than any other shotgun I have ever broken open. Will this shoot-in after some rounds? If so, will it be twenty rounds or hundreds of rounds? Should I be concerned enough to not shoot it and let a smith -- or the factory -- check it out first? I welcome any comments, thanks.
Bill R.

·
Registered
2,016 Posts
Always willing to help out a wheelgunner... For break-in, use Hoppe's or Outer's gun grease (not oil) on all the pivoting/sliding points of contact. Another possibility is anti-seize compond - Molybdenum disulfide - I've never tried it, but I've heard of it being used, and it certainly won't hurt or prematurely wear anything.

Until it starts to loosen up, clean and re-lube frequently. What you want to avoid is getting a piece of hard, abrasive material in there and plowing a furrow with it. Also, metal-to-metal galling can occur where two parts of similar hardness meet.