Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
Browning Citori O/U 20 Gauge
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have read that the Fiocchi 209 primer may be substituted for the Win209 primer.

So, here's the first reload that I'm thinking about:

20 Gauge
Win AA hull
Super handicap powder 12.5 grains
Lead shot 3/4 ounce of #7-1/2
Wad CB 1075-20
Primer Fiocchi 209 (instead of Win209)

I've read that the Fiocchi is slightly larger and prone to producing weak loads in cold temperatures. So I plan to stay with the Fiocchi once started, and try a different reload when it gets cold.

Does this seem reasonable? Am I doing anything that's obviously risky?

Disclaimer: I'm a total newb at reloading and prone to making typos and other silly mistakes. Don't follow me.

·
Registered
18 Posts
There really is no primer substitution. Every primer reacts differently with different powders. So the recommendation is to always stay with powder manufacturers recommendations. You can go to Hodgdon website. Look up your powder and use recommended loads. Be careful with what you do or you may end up with higher pressure than recommended.

·
Premium Member
9,155 Posts
You shouldn't be subbing primers......but in this case it is such an anemic load to begin with, you will be fine as far as raising chamber pressure. If anything pressure is going to drop and it might drop more than you want.

Reactions: HenryPeter

·
Premium Member
9,155 Posts
Oh give me a break......Fiocchi primers trying to light off a double based ball powder is NOT going to create any dangerous loads. As I said the whole deal is pretty anemic to begin with.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Here's an email reply I received from Alliant when I posted a question on their 'Ask the Experts' web page:

Now this is Alliant not Hodgdon but I believe it still applies.

His load using a Ched. primer has a pressure of 9,900 so lets add the possible of an additional 2500 that's 12,400 well above specifications.