Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,637 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm noticing that things in my fridge are not as cold as they once were. The freezer OTOH seems to be unaffected.

I suspect that the fan that blows the cold air in the frige died, but I'm no expert on these things. Looks like I might have to buy a new one, but if there's a possibility that I can fix this one I'd prefer that.

Suggestions on either fixing or replacing it welcome.

·
Premium Member
20,323 Posts
Several fairly minor things could be responsible for the problem.

The condensate line may be stopped up. If it is, this will cause water to back up and freeze the coils solidly into ice. Check the evaporator pan under the fridge to see if any water drips down into it when it goes through the defrost cycle. If it's dry, then the line is likely stopped up and the coils frozen solid.

Often, these coils are located in the space between the top freezer section and the refrigerator section below. To thaw them, unplug the fridge and pour warm/hot water into the freezer part. Naturally you need to remove everything from the freezer and fridge before doing this. You can also use a hair dryer to blow hot air on the coil compartment. It's even quicker if you can remove the cover to the coil compartment, but it's not necessary.

Also, you may have a bad defrost timer. This is an inexpensive (estimated $30) part that you can buy and replace yourself.

As Albanygun said, check into some repair manuals either in print or online. Simple repairs are actually pretty easy.

·
Registered
6,264 Posts
GWM

Snap!

Except that mines given up permanently and awaits profession repair. Suspects include a line blockage or sticking valve.

Eug

·
Premium Member
4,637 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·