Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently got a reloader for christmas today, along with a copy of Lymans Shotshell Reloading Handbook 4th Edition. I have the reloader all together and I am also going to get a set of scales tommorrow so I can get everything fined tuned. I have thousands of once fired Remington Primier Nitro shells so I figured I would start with them. I tried looking them up in the Lymans handbook and I dont understand the book at all. I couldnt find the shells anywhere in there. I really dont understand the book, and where I can find the shells in there. I am brand new to reloading so any help or tips will be greatly appericated. Thanks alot.

·
Registered
135 Posts
Hunter,
The first thing you have to do is decide what brand of powder you are going to use. Then you have to get their reloading book or phamplet. Everything you need to know will be in the book. I use Hodgon powders, mainly tightgroup, as I find this is the most versatile. You can load this powder from 1125fps up to 1255fps with a very low charge weight. As I said decide on your powder , read the reloaders operational manual also read lymans book about reloading and do not hesitate to ask a question, even if you might think it is stupid remember the only stupid question is the one that is not asked. Hope this helps a little.
Raymond

·
Registered
12,198 Posts
The reason the STS/Nitro hull isn't in the book, is because the hull as it is named wasn't on the market when the book was published. Use the "Remington RTL (Premier)" data or, find a combination in the listings that appeals to you----the faster rate of powders is probably the easiest to use for a newbie. That would be 700X/Clays/RedDot/e3/Solo1000 or similar, and maybe you need to find a source of a propellant first, and go by the best deal you can get in those fast rate powders.