Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
361 Posts
Ok does anyone reload 410 shells? Which powder is rcommended for shooting skeet.? It seems that Lil Gun is the new kid on the block but with the recent recall people are skeptical.

·
Registered
251 Posts
Most of the 410 bore skeet shooters in our club use Winchester 296 powder. 14.0 grains drives 1/2 ounce of #9 shot around 1200 fps. The powder delivers consistant performance, but burns quite dirty.
I have heard some good things about Lil Gun and 410 powders, but have not tried either of them.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
When it comes to reloading the 4-10 you don't have much choice when it comes to powder, about 3 or 4 and that's it. I've been shooting the 4-10 at chukars for about 15 years now and I use 296, but it is a little dirty. Like Jersey Hunter I got an 8 lb. keg and believe it or not I am finally about out. Jersey Hunter if the price plus postage is right I'll take it off your hands and you can try all the others. Also if anybody wants to part with 4-10 empty hulls, star crimp only, at a very reasonable price I'd be very interested, Wally World price of $9 to $10 a box hurts. ONLY good shots or Pollocks shot 4-10's. FOR A GOOD LAUGH try my website: print in at ADDRESS box : http://www.zplace2b.com and then click on THE POLISH CHUKAR HUNTER, and find out that pollocks really DO hunt!!!

·
Registered
361 Posts
I will be picking up 1 LB of 410 Alliant this weekend. Will post my reviews after I have tried it first hand. Click on the following links for additional 410 info. I just got my 410 and I can see that the 410 guys stick together. I will be shooting new factory AA HS 8-1/2 on the skeet field on Wednesday. Last week was the first day I picked up my 410 from layaway and shot three rounds of skeet good or better than my 12ga. What a great day!

http://shotgunsports.com/cgi-bin/webcha ... startnum=1

http://www.trapshooters.com/cfpages/sth ... messages=4

·
Registered
1,153 Posts